

## **ASSOCIATION OF INDIAN UNIVERSITIES**

## ANNUAL NATIONAL CONFERENCE OF VICE CHANCELLORS ON



## "REIMAGINING INDIAN UNIVERSITIES"

(Through Virtual mode)
August 17-18, 2020
Hosted by
NATIONAL LAW UNIVERSITY, DELHI

## PROGRAMME SCHEDULE

DAY -1: 17 AUGUST, 2020

DAY AND TIME	PROGRAMME
10.30 AM-11.00 AM	Joining the Virtual Conference
11.00 AM-11.52 AM	AIU FOUNDATION DAY LECTURE
	Welcome: Prof. Tej Partap, President, AIU Introduction: Dr. (Mrs.) Pankaj Mittal, Secretary General, AIU Introductory Film on Shri Kailash Satyarthi AIU FOUNDATION DAY LECTURE: Shri Kailash Satyarthi, Nobel Peace Laureate
	Vote of Thanks
11.52 AM-12.00 PM	Comfort Break
12.00 PM-01.30 PM	INAUGURATION
	Welcome: Dr. Ranbir Singh, VC, NLU, Delhi
	Introductory Remarks: Dr. Pankaj Mittal, Secretary General, AIU
	Address: Prof. Anil Sahasrabudhe, Chairman, AICTE
	Address: Prof. K K Aggarwal, Chairman, NBA
	Address: Prof. D P Singh, Chairman, UGC
	Address: Prof. Tej Partap, President, AIU
	■ Release of Edited Volume on "Reimagining Indian Universities"
	■ Release of "Monograph on Protecting Academic Interest of Students during COVID-19: Sharing Best Practices"
	■ Launch of AIU Portal
	Address by Hon'ble Union Minister of Education,
	Dr. Ramesh Pokhriyal 'Nishank'
01.30 PM- 01.32 PM	Vote of Thanks: Prof. G. S. Bajpai, Registrar, NLU, Delhi
01.32 PM - 02.00 PM	BREAK

02.00 PM - 03.30 PM	PROMOTING RESEARCH AND INNOVATION	
	Chair: Prof. Bhushan Patwardhan, Vice Chairman, UGC	
	Panellists (To Speak for 10mts each):  Prof. Krishan Lal, Former President, INSA, New Delhi  Prof. T. G. Sitharam, Director, IIT-Guwahati  Dr.S. Vaidhyasubramaniam, Vice Chancellor, SASTRA	
	Open Session	
03.30 PM - 04.00 PM	COMFORT BREAK	
04.00 PM - 05.30 PM	GOVERNANCE REFORMS	
	Chair: Shri Shekhar Dutt, Former Governor, Chhattisgarh	
	Panellists (To Speak for 10mts each):	
	<ul> <li>Mr. Naveen Mittal, Commissioner of Collegiate Education,</li> <li>Telangana</li> <li>Prof. R K Mishra, Director, Institute of Public Enterprise, Hyderabad</li> <li>Prof. Nageshwar Rao, Vice Chancellor, IGNOU, New Delhi</li> </ul>	
	Open Session	
DAY-2: 18 <sup>TH</sup> AUGUST		
	SPECIAL ADDRESS	
10.00 AM - 10.45 AM	Welcome: Prof. Tej Partap, President, AIU Introduction: Dr. (Mrs.) Pankaj Mittal, Secretary General, AIU	
	SPECIAL ADDRESS by PADMA VIBHUSHAN DR. K. KASTURIRANGAN	
	Vote of Thanks	
10.45 AM- 12.00 Noon	DEVELOPING EMPLOYABILITY AND ENTREPRENEURSHIP	
	<b>Chair: Ms.</b> <i>Juthika Patankar</i> , Additional Secretary, Ministry of Skill Development and Entrepreneurship	
	Panellists(To Speak for 10mts each):  Prof. Souvik Bhattacharyya, Vice Chancellor, BITS, Pilani	
	<ul> <li>Dr. Raj Nehru, Vice Chancellor, Vishwakarma Skill University,</li> <li>Gurugram</li> <li>Col. Dr. G. Thiruvasagam, Vice President, AIU &amp; VC, AMET Univ</li> <li>Prof. R.L. Raina, Vice Chancellor, JK Lakshmipat University, Jaipur</li> <li>Open Session</li> </ul>	
12.00 Noon -12.15PM	COMFORT BREAK	

12.15 PM - 01.30 PM	TOWARDS GLOBAL BEST TEACHING LEARNING
	PROCESS
	Chair: Prof. Dinesh Singh, Chancellor, KR Mangalam University, Gurugram & Former Vice Chancellor, University of Delhi
	Panellists(To Speak for 10mts each):
	<ul><li>Prof. Rajnish Jain, Secretary, UGC</li><li>Dr Anoop Swarup, Vice Chancellor, Jagran Lake University, Bhopal</li><li>Dr Anubha Singh, Vice Chancellor, Alliance University, Bangalore</li></ul>
	Open Session
01.30 PM- 02.00 PM	Break
02.00 PM - 03.15 PM	IMPROVING ACCESS AND EQUITY
	Chair: <i>Prof. Sandeep Sancheti</i> , Past President AIU, & Vice-Chancellor SRM Institute of Science & Tech., Chennai
	Panellists(To Speak for 10mts each):
	<b>Prof P B Sharma</b> , Former President, AIU and Vice Chancellor, Amity University, Manesar
	<ul><li>Prof. Kavita Sharma, Former President, South Asian University, New Delhi</li><li>Prof. Furqan Qamar, Former Secretary General, AIU</li></ul>
	<i>Dr. Rajiv Yeravdekar</i> , Dean, Faculty of Health Sciences, Symbiosis International (Deemed University), Pune
	Open Session
03.15 PM -04.30 PM	EXCELLENCE, INTERNATIONALIZATION AND GLOBAL RANKINGS
	Chair: Prof. N.V. Varghese, Vice Chancellor, NIEPA
	Panellists(To Speak for 10mts each):  Prof. C. Raj Kumar, Vice Chancellor, OP Jindal Global University, Sonipat  Dr. Gulshan Sharma, Director General, ICSI  Prof. Vidya Yeravdekar, Pro Chancellor, Symbiosis International (Deemed University) Pune.
	Open Session
04.30 PM-05.30 PM	VALEDICTORY SESSION
	Welcome Note: Prof Tej Partap, President, AIU
	<b>Summing Up:</b> <i>Prof M.M Salunkhe</i> Immediate Past President, AIU VC, Bharati Vidyapeeth
	Valedictory Address by Dr. Vinay Sahasrabuddhe, Hon'ble Member of Parliament (Rajya Sabha) & President, ICCR
	Vote of Thanks: Dr. Pankaj Mittal, Secretary General, AIU